IAMBE Award 2018

The International Academy for Medical and Biological Engineering (IAMBE) announces three
for Young Faculty / Research Institution Members
(Assistant Professor or equivalent Research Institution / Industry position)
US$ 5000.- each

The Award will be presented at the 2018 World Congress on Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering in Prague.
The Award highlights the commitment of IAMBE to support and encourage promising young researchers at an already advanced, but not (yet) tenured level in view of a successful and fruitful academic career. Likewise, young researchers in private research institutions or industry research groups are envisaged. In so doing, IAMBE intends to strengthen the long-term basis and development of BME at the university as well as at the private research institution/industry level.

Eligible are:
  • Assistant Professors
  • Researchers having passed habilitation or equivalent, depending on university-specific academic career procedures
  • Researchers from private research institutions or industry research units

Applicants shall not be older than 40 years (as of September 1, 2018). Post-docs or equivalent industry positions are excluded.

The three awards are associated with world regions as follows:

  • North- / South-America
  • Europe / Near East / Africa
  • Far East / Australia / New Zealand

All areas of BME are considered. The CV of an applicant should demonstrate a strong background in the mathematical, physical, engineering or informatics’ sciences as they relate to medical research, clinical practice or biological research of importance for biomedical engineering. Successful applicants shall present their work during the World Congress and write a paper for the IFMBE journal.

Applications (in pdf form) must include (i) the CV of the applicant, (ii) the list of publications and (iii) a short personal statement (1000 words max.) outlining the scientific achievements and future interests of the applicant. Applications are to be submitted no later than February 1, 2018 to the Chairman of the Award Committee:

Peter F. Niederer, PhD
Prof. em. for Biomedical Engineering, ETH Zurich
Gloriastrasse 35
CH-8092 Zurich, Switzerland